Raspberry Pi DLNA

I’ve got DNLA working on my Pi, but the minidlna service isn’t starting at boot.

I’ve been typing the command sudo service minidlna restart after each reboot, but I don’t want to have to remember to do that every time the Pi restarts for some reason. Typing sudo service minidlna force-reload is also helpful when you’ve added a new file to the server and want it to be available. Perhaps I’ll stick that in a regular cron job or something.

I found this page which suggested that I sudo apt-get install rcconf and sudo rcconf but rcconf said that the minidlna service is already set to run on startup … which isn’t happening. Every time I reboot, sudo service --status-all says minidlna isn’t running (and, more importantly, I can’t connect from VLC).

I’ve added service minidlna restart to /etc/rc.local but the service still doesn’t start on boot. And when I did update-rc.d sudo service minidlna restart it said using dependency based boot sequencing … which I don’t really understand but it seems to suggest that this ain’t going to work. 🙂

Which is weird, because sudo /etc/init.d/minidlna start works fine to start the service.

So Plan B was to do sudo crontab -e and stick @reboot service minidlna restart in it … still no dice.

I’ll take another look in the morning…

[Edit] This page suggests that update-rc.d minidlna defaults (or perhaps sudo update-rc.d minidlna defaults) might work … so I’ve done that. Let’s see if miniDLNA comes back after the next reboot.

Raspberry Pi DLNA

Leave a Reply

